Florida Auto Insurance
Rules, Regulations, and Tips on Auto Insurance in Florida
Obtaining auto insurance for the State of Florida comes with a set of rules and requirements. The process can be simple if you have the basic understanding and fundamentals down. This article will be comprised of explained terms and detailed processes regarding Florida car insurance policies. You will also find brief information on how to find the best coverage plan(s) and pricing details. Also, you’ll learn how to acquire auto insurance quotes and compare different insurance companies.
Regardless if you are residing in Florida or just staying for a few months on business, you must comply with the Florida insurance laws. The laws state that any vehicle holding a valid Florida license plate and registration must be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the entire registration period. If you decide to leave Florida for any reason, you must void your license plate and registration at the DMV or Tax Collector office. It is easy to reclaim it if needed.
If you are residing in Florida and decide not to acquire car insurance then The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privileges, including your license plate and registration for up to 3 years or until you can provide proof of Florida insurance. There is also a reinstatement fee of $150 – $500 if found without insurance.
Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.
- Personal Injury Protection: also known as Florida No Fault Insurance, PIP covers you regardless of who is at fault up to the limits of your policy. PIP will also cover those involved in the accident, so long as they do not own a vehicle
- Bodily Injury Liability: covers for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you are at fault in an accident involving your car. The insurance will pay up to what your policy allows including legal representation and defense if needed
- Property Damage Liability: this coverage pays for damages you or members of your family may have caused (and are liable for) to other people’s property in a crash involving a vehicle
Now that you know what is required for getting auto insurance for the State of Florida, it is time to research the right coverage plan for you and your vehicle. To do so, you must acquire car insurance quotes and compare them to pinpoint the best value. Below is a list of the top 10 auto insurance providers that Florida residents rely on to protect them and their vehicle.
Now that you have the list of insurance companies, it is time to acquire car insurance quotes and start comparing. It’s simple, straightforward and takes a matter of minutes. You can start by entering your zip code below. There are plenty of coverage options for auto insurance in Florida, now it’s up to you to find the best suited for you. Good luck.